Key Players

Alberta Electric System Operator (AESO)

The AESO is the independent, not-for-profit entity responsible for the safe, reliable and economic planning and operation of the Alberta Interconnected Electric System. The AESO determines the need for transmission projects in Alberta.

Transmission Facility Owners (AltaLink and EPCOR)

Transmission Facility Owners (TFOs) are directed by the AESO to build and operate the transmission lines. TFOs are responsible for filing a Facilities Application and are regulated by the Alberta Utilities Commission (AUC).

Facility Application

The AESO may direct a Transmission Facility Owner (TFO) to submit a Facility Application to the AUC. The Facility Application includes a description of the proposed project including proposed technology and routing, a description of the participant involvement program, an environmental assessment and an economic assessment. For a complete listing of the information requirements of the Facility Application see section 7 of AUC Rule 007.

Alberta Utilities Commission

The AUC is an independent, quasi-judicial agency of the Government of Alberta responsible for ensuring that the delivery of Alberta’s utility services takes place in a manner that is fair, responsible and in the public interest. The AUC ensures that electric facilities are built, operated, and decommissioned in an efficient and environmentally responsible way. AltaLink and EPCOR, the Heartland Project Team, must file an application with the AUC to obtain approval to construct and operate the Heartland Transmission Project.